Linkin Park – One More Light

ATTENTION! This is not Minutes to Midnight, nor is it A Thousand Suns (thankfully)

As the album title implies this is another light from Linkin Park. It’s very much a seminal album, focusing more on a laid back sombre outlook with a liberal dash of hope than the angsty shout-it-out-loud motif of Hybrid Theory & Meteora.

There are two very strong collaborations on the album featuring UK grime artist Stromzy and American rapper Pusha T in ‘Good Goodbye’, and a wonderful heartfelt collab with Kiiara on the track ‘Heavy’.

I have to tip my hat to LP with each album comes a new iteration of what they feel it means to be Linkin Park while also designing an album that is going to sell. Unfortunately to me, it feels as though a little bit of Hybrid Theory & Meteora fades away with each new iteration. Maybe I’m living in the past viewing LP as too much of a leaning post in my former years as a teenager and regard those two albums with too much nostalgia. Then again each time I hear of a new LP album I’m eager to hear what they’ve crafted in a hope that it is in fact a reprisal of their former selves, however this is probably asking too much of lead vocalist Chester, having been recording and performing for so long maybe it’s a sombre reality that his voice simply can’t handle the strains of songs like ‘Forgotten’, ‘One Step Closer’ or ‘By Myself’ to name a few.

In the end I hope to be proven wrong with their next album, providing there is one in the works. My fingers are tightly crossed for at least an homage to their original two albums.

For now One More Light offers a listening experience which breaks away from the angst and sways to the contemplative emotions.

A solid 4/5 for execution.